Category Archives: Cropping System

Organic grain, soybean study establishes early production recommendations

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Nithya Rajan, 979-845-0360, nrajan@tamu.edu Dr. Muthu Bagavathiannan, 979-845-5375, muthu@tamu.edu Dr. Ronnie Schnell, 979-845-2935, ronschnell@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – After one year of studying organic grain and soybean cropping systems, Texas A&M AgriLife scientists say they know more about what not to do moving forward. Three Texas A&M researchers are using a $475,000 U.S. Department of Agriculture National Institute of Food and Agriculture grant to study organic grain and soybean cropping systems over a three-year period. The project leaders are Dr. Nithya Rajan,… Read More →

Soil Health – Cover Crop field day held in Williamson County

Writer: Beth Ann Luedeker Contact: Dr. Jake Mowrer – Jake.mowrer@tamu.edu Dr. Clark Neely – cbneely@tamu.edu Dr. Haly Neely – hneely@tamu.edu AgriLife Extension and the USDA Natural Resource Conservation Service recently teamed up to discuss cover crops and conservation tillage practices with producers in the Blackland region of the state. The group met at the Stiles Foundation Farm, near Thrall, and Unnasch Farms, near Hart, Texas. Robert Unnasch has been practicing conservation tillage for many years. This made the field trip to his farm an excellent way to begin… Read More →

Cotton, Corn and Soil discussed at 54th Annual Stiles Farm Field Day

More than 100 producers from the Blackland region of Texas gathered at the Stiles Farm in Thrall, Texas, in mid-June for the 54th annual field day. Each year the field day highlights research being done at Stiles Farm as well as innovations in crop and livestock management. Dr. Gaylon Morgan, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension State Cotton Specialist, discussed cotton production and new technologies for weed and nutrient management in cotton. “New herbicide technologies are not a silver bullet for weed control,” Morgan stated. “In order to get good… Read More →

More than just cotton

Conservation cropping systems, crop rotation focus of Rolling Plains study Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Curtis Adams, 940-552-9941, Curtis.Adams@ag.tamu.edu Dr. Paul DeLaune, 940-552-9941, pbdelaune@ag.tamu.edu VERNON – Conservation practices are a growing part of cropping systems in the Rolling Plains, according to Texas A&M AgriLife Research scientists who are helping producers look at the big picture, instead of just crop to crop. Dr. Curtis Adams, cropping systems agronomist, and Dr. Paul DeLaune, environmental soil scientist, both with AgriLife Research in Vernon, are working jointly to research where… Read More →