Category Archives: Competition

Aggie Weed Team represents at SWSS contest

By: Beth Ann Luedeker Soil and Crop Sciences contact: Dr. Muthu Bagavathiannan,   Weed Science students and their coaches traveled to Vero Beach, Florida recently to represent Texas A&M University at the Southern Weed Science Society weed contest. Drs. Muthu Bagavathiannan, Katherine Carson, and Vijay Singh coached two graduate teams and an undergraduate team for the contest. Thirteen teams, representing nine universities competed. “Last year was our first year to compete, and we didn’t do so well,” said graduate student Seth Abugho. “This was a redemption year… Read More →

The 2nd Annual Aggie Turfgrass Open

Aggie Turf Club wrapped up the spring semester with the 2nd Annual Aggie Turfgrass Open, held at Briarcrest Golf Club. Twenty-four SCSC Turfgrass Science students, faculty, and staff came out and had a great time participating in the 2-person scramble event. This year, we had a 2-way tie for 1st place (+2) between the teams of Russell Rafter/Casey Reynolds and Wes Dyer/Rodrigo Martinez. A big thank you to Briarcrest superintendents Bobby Holt and Jacob Menn for hosting us as well as Brian Cloud (GCSAA) for sponsoring a closest… Read More →