Category Archives: Awards

Aggie Weed Team represents at SWSS contest

By: Beth Ann Luedeker Soil and Crop Sciences contact: Dr. Muthu Bagavathiannan,   Weed Science students and their coaches traveled to Vero Beach, Florida recently to represent Texas A&M University at the Southern Weed Science Society weed contest. Drs. Muthu Bagavathiannan, Katherine Carson, and Vijay Singh coached two graduate teams and an undergraduate team for the contest. Thirteen teams, representing nine universities competed. “Last year was our first year to compete, and we didn’t do so well,” said graduate student Seth Abugho. “This was a redemption year… Read More →

Innovation of researchers yields better food, feed and fiber for consumers

By: Kathleen Phillips Writer: Kathleen Phillips, 979-845-2872, Contact: Dr. Craig Nessler, 979-845-8486,   When the names of two researchers were called as top innovators at the recent Texas A&M Technology Commercialization banquet in College Station, officials at Texas A&M AgriLife beamed. “It was gratifying to see that our efforts to attract and support the best scientists was noticed and honored,” said Dr. Craig Nessler, director of Texas A&M AgriLife Research, the agency that yielded both winners — Dr. Gregory Sword and Dr. Joshua Yuan. “And we’re… Read More →

Texas A&M’s Stelly recognized as ICAC Cotton Researcher of the Year

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, Contacts: Dr. David Baltensperger, 979-845-3041, Dr. David Stelly, 979-845-2745, COLLEGE STATION – Dr. David Stelly has been named the Cotton Researcher of the Year by the International Cotton Advisory Committee, known as ICAC. Since being formed in 1938, ICAC’s global role has been to raise awareness of emerging issues, provide information relevant to the solving of problems and to foster cooperation in the achievement of common objectives. Stelly’s research is leading to advances in multiple scientific and applied disciplines of cotton,… Read More →

B.B. Singh honored by the American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS)

Dr. Bir Bahadur Singh (BB) was elected as a Fellow of the American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS) and presented with a Certifcate and a Rossette Pin during its Annual Meeting at Boston MA on Feb.18, 2016. This Award was in recognition of his research work on breeding short duration varieties of pigeon pea, soybean and cowpea which fit as niche crops in the cereal-based cropping systems and enhance the system’s sustainability, ensure efficient use of farmers’ land, water and labor resources and contribute to balanced food… Read More →

Baltensperger receives Borlaug Lifetime Achievement Award from TPPA

Writer: Blair Fannin, 979-845-2259, BRYAN – Dr. David Baltensperger, head of the department of soil and crop sciences at Texas A&M University in College Station, has received the Norman Borlaug Lifetime Achievement Award from the Texas Plant Protection Association. Baltensperger received the award for contributions to the association and to Texas agriculture. The award was given at the association’s annual conference held recently at the Brazos Center  in Bryan Dr. Ronnie Schnell, Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service cropping systems specialist, College Station, received the academic/agency award, while… Read More →

Texas A&M faculty, students recognized at international meeting in Phoenix

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, COLLEGE STATION – Individuals from Texas A&M University are being recognized during the “Resilience Emerging from Scarcity and Abundance”  international annual meeting of the American Society of Agronomy, Crop Science Society of America and Soil Science Society of America. The annual meeting of the three societies will be Nov. 6-9 in Phoenix, Arizona, with more than 4,000 attendees expected. The annual awards are presented for outstanding contributions to agronomy through education, national and international service, and research. “It reflects the stature of our… Read More →

The Texas A&M University Soil Judging Team won the Region IV, collegiate soil judging contest

The Texas A&M Soil Judging Team won the soil judging contest in Ruidoso, New Mexico, in early October. They were the overall winners, and won the Team Judging event for soil. Four of the five team members finished in the top ten, with the fifth only two places out. Sam Shroyer led the team, finishing as the 4th high indidivual, followed closely by Nicole Shigley – 5th high, Kacie Wynn – 7th high, Michael Bartmass – 10th high, and Rory Tucker – 12th high. Coach Cristine Morgan is… Read More →

Dr. B.B. Singh received a Lifetime Achievement Award as a Distinguished Mentor from G.B. Pant University in India

Dr. B.B. Singh, a visiting professor in the Soil and Crop Sciences Department at Texas A&M University, recently received a Lifetime Achievement Award as a Distinguished Mentor from the Pantnagar Clan, a global network of alumni from Govind Ballabh Pant University of Agriculture and Technology in Pantnagar, India. G.B. Pant University was the first college in India to be patterned after the United States land grant system. Dr. Singh was a member of the first batch of students to graduate from that university, earning his B.Sc. degree in… Read More →


Several Soil and Crop Sciences faculty members have been selected to receive awards at the Agronomy Society of America and Crop Science Society of America annual meetings in the fall. Dr. Jane Dever has been named as an ASA Fellow, the highest award bestowed by the Society.  Dr. Dever specializes in cotton breeding, conducting her research at the Texas A&M AgriLife Research and Extension Center in Lubbock.  One of the primary goals in her research program is to use classical breeding to incorporate native traits into cultivars for… Read More →

Crop Science Society of America Announces 2016 Award Recipient

MADISON, WI, Jul 13, 2016 – The Crop Science Society of America (CSSA) announces the following 2016 award recipient to be formally presented at the CSSA Awards Ceremony on 2016-11-09 during the scientific society’s Annual Meeting, Nov 6-9, Phoenix, AZ – Sheraton Grand Phoenix Ballroom C. The annual awards are presented for outstanding contributions to agronomy through education, national and international service, and research. David M. Stelly, Texas A&M University, College Station, TX – CSSA Fellow: David Stelly is Professor at Texas A&M University and AgriLife Research, in College Station, Texas. Dr. Stelly… Read More →