Cereal Quality Lab – News

June 2018

group of people posing for photo

2018 U.S. Borlaug Fellows in Global Food Security Program participants at Purdue University, including TAMU Soil and Crop Sciences students Tadesse Teferra (center in third row) and Karina Morales (fifth from right in front)

Tadesse Teferra participated in the U.S. Borlaug Fellows in Global Food Security program at Purdue University.  The Global Food Security program is an annual, two- week course organized by the Borlaug Summer Institute. This was the seventh year for the program, which was attended by 40 graduate students from various land grant universities across the U.S.


May 2018

Shreeya Ravisankar

Shreeya Ravisankar

Shreeya Ravisankar began a 6-month internship at Kellogg’s in Battle Creek MI.

Audrey Girard standing beside Taehoon Kim

Audrey Girard and Taehoon Kim received their doctoral degrees in food science and technology in May.

Audrey Girard and Taehoon Kim received their doctoral degrees in Food Science and Technology from Texas A&M. Audrey accepted an Associate Research Scientist position in the TAMU Department of Soil and Crop Sciences and will continue working in the Cereal Quality Lab.  Taehoon is actively pursuing employment in the food industry.



April 2018

Dr. Joseph Awika speaking at podium

Dr. Joseph Awika presented at the Sorghum in the 21st Century conference.

four men posing in front of a conference banner

Left to right: Tadesse Taferra, Ace Pugh, David Horne and Dr. Bill Rooney at the Sorghum in the 21st Century conference in South Africa.

Dr. Joseph Awika and Tedesse Teferra participated in the Sorghum in the 21st Century – Food, Feed and Fuel in a Rapidly Changing World conference in Cape Town, South Africa.

As a member of the Texas A&M College Bowl Team, Katie Duke placed first in the South Central Region IFTSA College Bowl competition. https”//nfs.tamu.edu/2018/04/17/first-place-at-2018-south-central-regional-ift-college-bowl/

Shreeya Ravisankar and Tadesse earned 1st and 3rd, respectively, for their oral presentations at the NFSSC Nutrition Symposium. The title of Shreeya’s presentation was “Mechanisms for strong synergistic anti-inflammatory action of cereal-pulse flavonoid combinations in Caco-2 nomolayer model” and Tadesse presented “Field Emission Scanning Electron Microscopy (FE-SEM) as a new method to characterize sorghum endosperm with highly digestible Kafirin protein mutation”.

Julia Bransen and Tadesse Teferra received the Lloyd and Maxine Rooney Fellowship for student Travel 2018-19.


March 2018

Tadessa Teferra with poster

Tadesse Teferra with poster during Student Research Week at TAMU.

Tadesse Teferra place 2nd in the Graduate Agriculture and Life Sciences category at the 21st annual Student Research Week (March 19-23, 2018) at Texas A&M University and won the Sigma XI STEM award, Universtiy-wide graduate category. The title of the poster was “Field emission – scanning electron microscopy (FE-SEM) as a method of screening sorghum lines with highly digestible protein mutation.”



January 2018

Katie Duke (MS student) and Suleiman Althawab (Ph.D. student) joined the Cereal Quality Lab.


December 2017

Derrick Amoako

Derrick Amoako

Derrick Amoako graduated from Texas A&M with a Ph.D. in Food Science and Technology. He has been employed at Frito Lay in Plano, TX since October, 2017, as a Senior R&D Scientist.



October 2017

Shreeya Ravisankar

Shreeya Ravisankar

Product Development Team

Texas A&M Soil and Crop Sciences Product Development Team

Shreeya Ravisankar, left, took top honors in the 9th Annual Best Student Research Paper Competition at the 2017 American Association of Cereal Chemists International (AACCI) annual meeting which was held October 8-11 in San Diego, CA. Shreeya won with her oral presentation titled “Mechanisms for strong synergistic anti-inflammatory action of cereal-pulse flavonoid combinations in Caco-2 monolayer model”.

The Texas A&M Product Development team, right, took 1st place in the 2017 AACCI Student Product Development Comptition with their gluten-free, whole grain muffin pre-mix, PulCe Muffins.  Members of the team are (left to right): Celeste Totten, senior Food Science student; Tadessa Teferra, PhD student in Food Science under the supervision of  Dr. Joseph Awika; and Shreeya Ravisankar, PhD student in Food Science under Dr. Awika.




April 2017

Shreeya Ravisankar (left) & Julia Brantsen (right) – recipients of The Lloyd and Maxine Rooney Fellowship Endowment


Derrick Amoako – NFS Award for Outstanding Graduate Student in Food Science (pictured in middle, with Dr. Joseph Awika and Dr. Stephen Talcott)
Derrick Amoako also placed 2nd in the 2017 Nutrition Research Symposium and was earned the 2017–2018 Academic Excellence Award (Dr. Kate Adele Hill Memorial Scholarship).



Derrick Amoako, Tadesse Teferra, Shreeya Ravisankar, and Julia Brantsen with Dr. Awika – 2nd place in AACCI’s Product Development Competition with Sorgummys


Audrey Girard (2nd from left) – Finalist in AACCI’s Best Student Research Paper Competition with oral presentation Effect of proanthocyanidin MW profile on dough rheology.
Derrick Amoako (not pictured) – 1st Place, Best Student Poster Competition 2016 (AACCI Nutrition Division) and 2nd Place, 2016 AACCI Carbohydrate Division/Megazyme Award (Poster Competition)

Comments are closed.