Category Archives: Extension

Yaupon control discussed at 32nd Annual O.D. Butler Forage Field Day

Story and Photos by : Beth Ann Luedeker Contact: Vanessa Corriher-Olson  vacorriher@ag.tamu.edu   Landowners fight a constant battle against invasive species of plants. Dr. Vanessa Corriher-Olson, Soil and Crop Sciences professor and AgriLife Extension forage specialist from Overton provided several control options for yaupon during the 32nd Annual O.D. Butler Forage Field Day and Camp Cooley Ranch. Yaupon can be controlled mechanically or chemically, Olson told attendees. During her presentation Charles Fuchs with CF Mulching Services of Easterly demonstrated yaupon removal using a mulching machine. “Mechanical control gives… Read More →

Texas Well Owner Network receives prestigious award from TCEQ

Writer: Paul Schattenberg, 210-859-5752, paschattenberg@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Diane Boellstorff, 979-458-3562, dboellstorff@tamu.edu Dr. Drew Gholson, 979-845-1461, dgholson@tamu.edu John W. Smith, 979-845-2761, johnwsmith@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – The Texas Well Owner Network has earned a Texas Commission on Environmental Quality 2018 Texas Environmental Excellence award in the category of education. The Texas Well Owner Network, developed by the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service and Texas A&M University’s Texas Water Resources Institute, helps private well owners learn to protect water resources and properly maintain wells to ensure safe water supplies. According to… Read More →

New statewide turfgrass specialist joins TAMU Soil and Crop Sciences faculty

Writer: Kay Ledbetter, 806-677-5608, skledbetter@ag.tamu.edu Contact: Dr. Becky Grubbs, 979-845-0603, bgrubbs@tamu.edu COLLEGE STATION – Dr. Becky Grubbs expects to spend the next chapter in her life growing the Texas turfgrass industry through collaborative and interdisciplinary actions as the new Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service statewide turfgrass specialist in College Station. Grubbs said her philosophy in approaching her new job, which she began April 1, will be to establish strong, credible relationships with producers and industry stakeholders through regular site visits and a steady person-to-person dialogue. “My research will… Read More →